Past recipients
See the past recipients of the President's Award

2017 | Min Wang | For playing a key role in developing Council's presence in China.

2017 | For their vision and work on the World Design Summit Meeting as fellow Steering Committee members: Kathryn Moore, President of IFLA, and Regitze Marianne Hess, Special Advisor to IFHP.

2015 | For his great legacy and contribution to design and for his published work World History of Design (Bloomsbury 2015) Victor Margolin, Professor Emeritus of Design, University of Illnois.

2011 | Mervyn Kurlansky
 | For his vision of the International Design Alliance (IDA) and his role in nurturing the alliance into reality.

2009 | Robert L. Peters
 | For his many achievements as a Board member and as a member of the founding executive of the International Design Alliance (IDA).

2009 | Pan Gongkai
 | For helping to redefine the direction of art and design education in China.

2007 | Guy Schockaert | For his tireless advocacy of professional design organisations and his commitment to Icograda.

2005 | Craig Halgreen 
| For supporting and sustaining Sappi's Ideas that Matter program.

2003 | Leimei Julia Chui 
| For her role in making VISUALOGUE: Icograda World Design Congress 2003 a success.

1999 | Federico Mayor 
Director-General of UNESCO.

1997 | ADG Uruguay 
| For the organisation of the Icograda Congress XVII and General Assembly.

1995 | Marion Wesel-Henrion and J. Brian Davies
 | Jointly awarded for outstanding work for the Icograda Foundation and the organisation of the Poster Auction.

1993 | Hiroshi Kojitani 
| For outstanding services to Icograda as Vice President and particularly as Founder Chairman of the Friends of Icograda.

1991 | Mary V. Mullin | For the inauguration of the Icograda Foundation and the Friends of Icograda.

1989 | Simon de Hartog | For outstanding services to Design Education.

1987 | Susumo Sakane | For outstanding contribution to Icograda as Vice-President.

1985 | Jan Rajlich | For services to the Brno Biennale.

1983 | Robert Blaich 
| For the promotion of the Icograda | PHILLIPS Award.

1981 | Geoffrey Bensusan 
| For editorial services for the newsletter.

1979 | Robert Vogle 
| For the organisation of the Icograda Congress in Chicago.

1977 | Kenneth and Shelagh Adshead 
| For services to the Icograda Audio Visual Archive.

1974 | Earnest Hoch | For services to the Standardisation and Unification or Typographic Measurement.

1972 | Patrick Wallis Burke | For the design and editing of ICOGRAPHIC.

1970 | Peter Kneebone | For his contribution to the SYMBOLS Commission and for his service as liaison for Icograda to UNESCO and Icsid.