new york 2015

The inaugural Professional Platform Meeting took place 25-26 October 2014 in New York hosted by AIGA and Parsons The New School for Design.


  • Agenda

    The Agenda was formulated on the basis of the survey results, which identified critical issues of global relevance.
    Three areas of interest were identified:
    • Community – Empowering Designers and Design Organisations (Relevance of Design, Relevance of Professional Organisations, Membership Growth, Value of Design, Engagement with Governments, National Policies, Design for Society
    • Engagement – Communicating The Value of Design (Collaboration and networking, ico-D benefits and initiatives, accreditation, sustainability, spec work, best practices)
    • Unity – Uniting Efforts for Bettering The Profession (Definition of next steps, ico-D benefits, establishing Agenda)

    Download the 2014 Professional Platform Meeting Agenda

  • Participants

    See who attended!

    AIGA (United States)

    • Katie Baker | Director Chapter Development

    Association of Designers of Russia (Russia)

    • Yuri Nazarov | President
    • Natalia Kazakova | Manager
    • Tatiana Vasileva | Head of Creative Department

    Association of Registered Graphic Designers (Canada)

    • Lionel Gadoury | Past-President
    • Hilary Ashworth | Executive Director

    Design Institute of Australia (Australia)

    • James Harper | National President

    Designers Institute of New Zealand (New Zealand)

    • Cathy Veninga | CEO

    Turkish Society of Graphic Designers (Turkey)

    • Umut Suduak | President

    Grafia (Finland)

    • Eili-Kaija Kuusniemi

    Grafill (Norway)

    • Dag Solhaug Laska | Deputy of the Board

    Graphic Artists Guild (United States)

    • Patricia McKiernan | Executive Director
    • Rebecca Blake | Board Member At Large

    Graphic Designers of Canada (Canada)

    • Adrian Jean | President

    Hongik University (South Korea)

    • Don Ryun Chang | Professor

    Istanbul Bilgi University (Turkey)

    • Cihangir Istek | Head of Visual Communication Department

    Japan Graphic Designers Association Inc. (Japan)

    • Katsuhiko Shibuya | International Committee Chair
    • Takahisa Kamijyo | Board Member
    • Yuji Tokuda | International Committee
    • Chika Kudo | Manager

    Svenska Tecknare (Sweden)

    • Tyra von Zweigbergk | Vice-President of the Board
    • Åsa Anesäter | Legal Adviser

    The One Club for Art and Copy (United States)

    • Kevin Swanepoel | President

    Parsons the New School for Design (United States)

    • Lucille Tenazas | Associate Dean School of Art, Media and Technology