20 December 2004
Brussels (Belgium) - Icograda has endorsed the 15th International Lahti Poster Biennial 2005.
Brussels (Belgium) - Icograda has endorsed the 15th International Lahti Poster Biennial 2005.* Organised by the Finnish Association of Graphic Design (Grafia) and Lahti Poster Museum, Finland, the event aims to identify and award poster designs that exhibit creativity, originality, aesthetic quality and communicative function. Over 13 000 euros in prizes will be awarded in this year's competition. The prize-winners and selected entries will be exhibited in the Lahti Art Museum from 4 June to 18 September 2005, and featured in an exhibition catalogue. The deadline for entries is 31 December 2004.

All posters for submitted for the Lahti Poster competition must be designed after 1 January 2003. An artist or a group of artists may submit a maximum of 4 posters or series of posters, and entries are welcome in three categories:

A. Cultural, social and commercial posters
B. Enviromental posters (Tarasti prize)
C. Posters for pleasure

The exhibited works will be selected by the competition committee and an additional foreign representative. The prize-winning posters will be selected by an international jury: Ahn Sang-soo (South Korea), Anke Feuchtenberger (Germany), Melchior Imboden (Switzerland), Aimo Katajamaki (Finland) and Finn Nygaard (Denmark).

The 15th International Lahti Poster Biennial 2005 will award the following prizes:
- Grand Prix 3 500 EUR
- First prize 2 500 EUR
- Second prize 1 700 EUR
- The Lauri Tarasti prize 3 000 EUR
- The Pleasure prize 2 500 EUR
- The Icograda Excellence Award
- Certificates of honour

Deadline for poster submissions: 31 December 2004

For further information please contact:

Poster Museum/Lahti Art Museum
P.O. Box 113
15111 Lahti, Finland
T / F: + 358 3 814 4545

Ulla Aartomaa

Kari Savolainen

Complete rules and registration forms are available at:

*Icograda endorsement is a guarantee that the design event complies with approved international guidelines.