DIA Victoria Branch appoints 2011 Council

09 November 2010
Melbourne (Australia) - The Design Institute of Australia (DIA) Victoria Branch elected 7 new councillors at the Annual General Meeting held on 2 September 2010 at the DIA National Office in Melbourne. Along with 5 incumbent councillors and an Events and Marketing Coordinator, they make up a vibrant, professional and diverse leadership team for 2011.
Melbourne (Australia) - The Design Institute of Australia (DIA) Victoria Branch elected 7 new councillors at the Annual General Meeting held on 2 September 2010 at the DIA National Office in Melbourne. Along with 5 incumbent councillors and an Events and Marketing Coordinator, they make up a vibrant, professional and diverse leadership team for 2011.

James Harper FDIA
VIC President, National Vice President
[Commercial Interior Design]
James has a Bachelor of Architecture degree and is director of BrookingHarper, a specialist retail design company with clients including Apple Computer and Mercedes Benz. A member of the DIA since 1995, James founded the highly successful Top 10x10 forum series in 2006.

Dominic Russo MDIA
VIC Treasurer & President Elect, National Director
[Industrial Design]
Graduating with Distinction in Industrial Design from RMIT University, Dominic possesses over 20 years design industry experience, working across a range of disciplines. Starting his career as an exhibition designer, and shortly after in a commercial interiors practice, Dominic co-founded Diadem in 2000, a multi disciplined brand implementation business where today his primary focus is in design management.

Egle Findlay FDIA
VIC Secretary [Textile Design]
Egle is the principal of Egle Findlay Textile Design and specialises in all kinds of surface and textile design for homewares, soft furnishings, bed linen and laminates. She co-founded her own label Patternique in 2009. Joining the Victoria Council 5 years ago, Egle organises and manages events, networking opportunities and projects for the benefit and promotion of textile designers. She initiated the DIA Textile Practice Group website gallery.

Paul Charlwood FDIA
VIC Government Liaison, National Director
[Industrial Design]
Paul is the principal of Charlwood Design, winner of the Premiers Award for Industrial Design 2006, inductee into the ‘Manufacturing Hall of Fame” and was instrumental in establishing the Design for Sustainability [D4S] partnership. Paul conceived and designed the Queen’s Baton for the 2006 Commonwealth Games, is the founder of the ‘Melbourne Design Guide’. Paul is the immediate past President of the DIA Victoria Branch, and has served as DIA VIC Government Liaison and on the Interior Design Awards steering committee.

Professor Lyndon Anderson MDIA
[Design Education & Students]
After working as a senior designer and manager, Lyndon formed a design consultancy specialising in the development of corporate furniture, lighting and consumer products. Lyndon successfully completed his doctorate in 2001 and is the immediate past Dean of Swinburne, Faculty of Design. Lyndon currently is managing research related to new product development and urban planning and supervises several PhD candidates. Lyndon has been a strong advocate for design industry and is a contributor to many design-related steering committees including Design Victoria.

Daniel Dalla Riva MDIA
[Commercial Interior Design & Exhibition Design]
Daniel has earned local and international recognition for his contributions to Exhibit Design, Retail Interior Design, and Transient Architecture over the last 17 years. Formerly Group Creative Director of Exponential Design, Daniel recently formed new design practice, 6Hats. Daniel has been an active member of the DIA, including participating as a Guest Speaker at Top 10x10, Juror of the 2009 Interior Design Awards and Chairperson in the upcoming 2011 IDA program.

Jaime Calero
[Graphic Design & Design Students]
Jaime recently completed his Bachelor in Communication Design at Swinburne University and currently works part-time at the DIA in the areas of website content, graphic design and photography. Jaime has participated on the DIA and AGDA student councils, running countless creative gatherings including exhibitions, presentations, and competitions.

Valerie Mack MDIA
[Interior Design]
Valerie is a senior designer and associate with Woods Bagot. Her project work extends across Australia and overseas, and has involved both the public and private sectors.  Valerie is currently designing large corporate workplace projects with a focus on environmentally sustainable design, lighting and workplace productivity issues. Valerie has an intimate knowledge of design having written and taught the design curriculum at tertiary level.

Marie Larkin
[Design Students & Interior Decoration]
Marie is currently studying Interior Decoration at RMIT. She has held executive roles in the state government and in health services and is currently a director of a successful leadership and management consultancy service. Marie has been closely involved in the planning and design of new health service facilities in rural Victoria and both the content and visual design of a number of organisation-wide strategic plans.

Simon Marriott MDIA
[Industrial Design]
Simon is the Managing Director of Formero, Australia’s largest provider of product development and manufacturing services. For over 20years, through both the DIA and Formero, Simon has helped the Industrial Design community unlock the real value of Design for Australian companies. Simon has been an active member of the DIA, particularly as a past DIA VIC councillor who coordinated numerous seminars and workshops for Industrial Design Practice Group.

Victoria Verteege
[Interior Decoration]
Victoria has been the Coordinator and currently Programs Director at RMIT University in the School of Design TAFE for the past ten years.  An active member of Colourways, Victoria has run a number of Colour Workshops in School of Design TAFE and co presented at designEx. Her enthusiasm for professionalism in decoration and design is the driving force that has maintained a strong link to industry and the DIA within the training programs. Victoria is currently undertaking further study in a Masters in Education at RMIT University.

Nick Hallam
[Graphic Design & Design Students]
Nick is a Melbourne based graphic designer and founder of Positive Posters, international poster design competition. He has studied at Swinburne Tafe/University and more recently has completed his honours at Monash University.

Caroline Caneva
[Secretarial Support / Events]
Caroline is a seasoned marketing professional in developing and staging awards programs and special events for prestigious brands and associations. Prior to joining the DIA, Caroline coordinated AGR Matthey’s Next Generation Jewellery Design Awards. Caroline works closely with the DIA VIC Councillors to deliver a variety of events, awards programs and monthly enewsletter, while studying her Masters in Business (Marketing).

About the Design Institute of Australia

The DIA promotes the value of professional design and designers to industry, business, government and the community through its State Branches. The Victoria Branch focuses on the needs and interests of local designers, running a range of activities including seminars, awards programs and networking opportunities, varying from design discipline specific to multi-disciplinary audiences.

For more information, contact

Caroline Caneva
Victorian Events & Marketing Officer
Design Institute of Australia - Victoria Branch
T: +61 3 00 888 056
W: www.design.org.au/vic