ED-Awards 2011: Award Ceremony

14 May 2011

The European Design Awards is the comprehensive annual awards organisation celebrating the best of graphic design, illustration and digital design in Europe. A joint effort by 15 communication design magazines from across the continent, the ED-Awards is a brilliant way to publicise your work on an international level.

The ED-Awards receive the widest publicity in the design awards field. Agencies and designers who excel here, receive the best coverage available. The reason is simple: the ED-Awards are based on a network of design media, i.e. the means of communication themselves.


The jury

  • Lynda Relph-Knight , Design Week, UK
  • Ayse Kongur, Grafik Tasarim, Turkey
  • Silvia Sfligiotti, (space), Italy
  • Bettina Schulz, novum, Germany
  • Eduardo Bravo, Visual, Spain
  • Jacek Mrowczyk, 2+3D, Poland
  • Athanasios Kyratzoglou, +design, Greece
  • Martin Lengauer, Design Austria, Austria
  • Filip Blazek, TYPO, Czech Republic
  • Freek Kroesbergen, Vormberichten, The Netherlands
  • Thierry Hausermann, idpure, Switzerland
  • Michel Chanaud, étapes, France
  • Peter Bankov, [kAk), Russia


  • Brand logo
  • Company logo
  • Brand implementation
  • Company implementation
  • Annual report
  • Book cover
  • Book layout
  • Brochure
  • Product catalogue
  • Artistic catalogue
  • Magazine
  • Promotional site
  • Information site
  • Motion graphics

Judging criteria

Standard criteria

  • Design quality: Design excellence including use of images, typography etc.
  • Creativity: Originality and artistic quality.
  • Relevance: To what extent the design serves the specific purpose it was designed for.

Criteria for websites

  • Usability
  • Technical quality
  • Design quality: Design excellence, including use of images, typography etc.
  • Creativity: Originality and artistic quality.
  • Relevance: To what extent the design serves the specific purpose it was designed for.

Criteria for typefaces

  • Creativity: Originality and artistic quality.
  • Readability: How easily or comfortably a typeset text reads.
  • Legibility: The ease and speed with which the reader can decipher each letterform and word.

Awards and catalogue


There are three levels of distinction: Gold, Silver and Bronze.

In each category, a Gold is only awarded if the jury believes that the specific work is of extremely high calibre. The Gold winners receive a trophy during the Award Ceremony. In rare cases, the maximum of two Gold awards may be given in one category.

Silver winners receive a diploma during the Award Ceremony. A maximum of five Silver awards are given per category.

Bronze winners receive a diploma by post or in the ED-Conference reception. A maximum of five Bronze awards are given per category.

ED-Awards catalogue

All award winners (gold, silver and bronze) will be published in the ED-Awards catalogue and on the ED-Awards website.

All companies published in the catalogue will receive one free sample, excluding shipping. Each winner will receive one free copy regardless of the number of submissions included in the catalogue.

About the trophy

The initial idea for the trophy was to utilise an archetypal form that would belong to the world of graphic arts and typography. Therefore, the trophy through an abstraction makes reference to typographical characters that were once used in the printing press. The materials that were used were solid aluminium for the main body and silver for the logo. Thus, the trophy was given an essential form and basic materials in order to reward the essence of the graphic creative procedure, that being the concept.

The aim of the trophy was to represent a comeback to the original process of creating, which is certainly then developed through the use of sophisticated means, but which still remains true to the primary idea.

After a few years of being around, the trophy has gained a nick-name: "European Design Star", due to the logo of the ED-Awards (an asterisk) which is located on the top of it. Apparently the nick name also means that the ones who win this trophy are "design Stars" in their own right.

The ED-Awards trophy was designed by Evangelos Vasileiou, born in Athens in 1976.

Announcement of judges' decisions

The award winners will be informed at least one month before the award ceremony but not officially announced before the award ceremony.

The participants who did not win will also be informed via e-mail no later than two weeks before the award ceremony.

For complete rules visit: www.europeandesign.org

For more information, please contact:

Jonas Uddman
European Design
Långstorp 366
243 93 Höör
T: +46 73 9830777
News & Views